Around Boise Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event



Ceramics and Textiles from the Southwest

Ceramics/Pottery, Textiles
oise natives Joan H. and John B. Carley spent twenty years wintering in the Southwest. Their love of the region and the various cultures represented there led them to begin collecting art by Native American artists. They eventually amassed a collection of more than sixty-five objects, including ceramics, sculptures, and textiles. In 2016, the Carleys generously gifted their collection to the Boise Art Museum. The collection consists of artworks by Apache, Choctaw, Hopi, Navajo, Pueblo, Tohono O’odham, and Wyandot artists. Highlights include an early twentieth-century jar from the Acoma Pueblo, a series of black vessels by acclaimed San Ildefonso Pueblo artist Maria Martinez, several storyteller figures from Cochiti Pueblo artists, and various intricately patterned Navajo wool rugs.
Event Info: (203) 345-8330
Price: Included in admission
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 12/14/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/15/19 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 12/17/19 - Sat 12/21/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/22/19 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 12/24/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/26/19 - Sat 12/28/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/29/19 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 12/31/19 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/2/20 - Sat 1/4/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 1/5/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 1/7/20 - Sat 1/11/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 1/12/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 1/14/20 - Sat 1/18/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 1/19/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 1/21/20 - Sat 1/25/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 1/26/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 1/28/20 - Sat 2/1/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/2/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 2/4/20 - Sat 2/8/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/9/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 2/11/20 - Sat 2/15/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/16/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 2/18/20 - Sat 2/22/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/23/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 2/25/20 - Sat 2/29/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/1/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/3/20 - Sat 3/7/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/8/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/10/20 - Sat 3/14/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/15/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/17/20 - Sat 3/21/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/22/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/24/20 - Sat 3/28/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/29/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/31/20 - Sat 4/4/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/5/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/7/20 - Sat 4/11/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/12/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/14/20 - Sat 4/18/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/19/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/21/20 - Sat 4/25/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/26/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/28/20 - Sat 5/2/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 5/3/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 5/5/20 - Sat 5/9/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 5/10/20 at 12pm-5pm 

Boise Art Museum
address  670 Julia Davis Dr.
 Boise, ID  83702
phone (208) 345-8330
hours Sun. noon-5 pm, Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; 1st Thu. 10 am-9 pm
general adm $6; $4 seniors and military; $3 full-time students and children in grades 1-12; free for children under 6
boiseartmuseum.org