Around Boise Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event



Consider the Source

Art Show
Following Weather or Not and Tall Tales, this is the third exhibition in a series based on the Boise Art Museum’s Art Cards. These exhibitions are the result of a unique collaboration between the Museum’s curators and educators and have been thoughtfully designed to foster art appreciation and learning. Many of the works in this exhibition were included in the set of BAM Art Cards called In Your Element and were chosen for their connection to the elements of earth, air, fire, or water. Expanding on this concept, the exhibition looks at the physical elements used to create works of art, whether man-made or naturally occurring. Exploring the idea of materiality, Consider the Source presents an original arrangement of works from the Museum’s Permanent Collection. Artists have created the works using substances as diverse as clay, fiber, gelatin silver, glass, graphite, ink, metal, paper, pigment, polymer, stone, and wood. Materiality is an essential component of the creative process and determines how artists execute their works. Viewers are invited to spend time looking closely at the artworks to decipher how and why the artists have employed particular materials.
Event Info: (203) 345-8330
Price: Museum admission $3-$8; members, BSU students & children under 6 free
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Wed 12/13/17 - Sat 12/16/17 at 10am 
 • Sun 12/17/17 at 12pm 
 • Mon 12/18/17 - Sat 12/23/17 at 10am 
 • Sun 12/24/17 at 12pm 
 • Mon 12/25/17 - Sat 12/30/17 at 10am 
 • Sun 12/31/17 at 12pm 
 • Mon 1/1/18 - Sat 1/6/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 1/7/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 1/8/18 - Sat 1/13/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 1/14/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 1/15/18 - Sat 1/20/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 1/21/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 1/22/18 - Sat 1/27/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 1/28/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 1/29/18 - Sat 2/3/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 2/4/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 2/5/18 - Sat 2/10/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 2/11/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 2/12/18 - Sat 2/17/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 2/18/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 2/19/18 - Sat 2/24/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 2/25/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 2/26/18 - Sat 3/3/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 3/4/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 3/5/18 - Sat 3/10/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 3/11/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 3/12/18 - Sat 3/17/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 3/18/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 3/19/18 - Sat 3/24/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 3/25/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 3/26/18 - Sat 3/31/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 4/1/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 4/2/18 - Sat 4/7/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 4/8/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 4/9/18 - Sat 4/14/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 4/15/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 4/16/18 - Sat 4/21/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 4/22/18 at 12pm 
 • Mon 4/23/18 - Sat 4/28/18 at 10am 
 • Sun 4/29/18 at 12pm 

Boise Art Museum
address  670 Julia Davis Dr.
 Boise, ID  83702
phone (208) 345-8330
hours Sun. noon-5 pm, Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; 1st Thu. 10 am-9 pm
general adm Included in admission
boiseartmuseum.org