Around Boise Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event

Talks and Readings Events
 
Sort by: Event Venue Date
    
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures, Religious
Global Confucianism in the 21st Century
Confucianism has taken a strong hold in East Asia for centuries, leaving distinct legacies in China, Korea and Japan. But it has also been having significant impact in Southeast Asia, especially in Vietnam, Singapore, Indonesia, and Malaysia. In the turn t...
University of Idaho - Water Center
Boise, ID

Tue 9/25/18 at 6pm-8pm
Talks & Readings: Family/Child (Books)
Tasty Tales Free Storytime at Guru Donuts
Join us for a delicious kid-friendly event: Tasty Tales! Weekly free story time hosted by Guru Donuts with delightful kids' picture books read by Rediscovered Bookshop staff. Two sessions, 10:00-10:20am and an encore 10:30-10:50am. Participants receive a $...
Idanha Hotel – Guru Donuts
Boise, ID

Tue 9/25/18 at 10am till 10:20am, 10:30am till 10:50am
Tue 10/2/18 at 10am till 10:20am, 10:30am till 10:50am
Tue 10/9/18 at 10am till 10:20am, 10:30am till 10:50am
Tue 10/16/18 at 10am till 10:20am, 10:30am till 10:50am
Tue 10/23/18 at 10am till 10:20am, 10:30am till 10:50am
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures, Education
English Conversation Club
Are you an English Language Learner looking for a fun, welcoming, non-judgmental space to practice your English? Come talk with us at the English Conversation Club!
Meridian Library District
Meridian, ID

Thu 9/27/18 at 6:30pm-7:30pm
Thu 10/4/18 at 6:30pm-7:30pm
Thu 10/11/18 at 6:30pm-7:30pm
Thu 10/18/18 at 6:30pm-7:30pm
Thu 10/25/18 at 6:30pm-7:30pm
Talks & Readings: Community Event
Regional Transportation Plan Open House
The year is 2040. How will you get from here to there? Our transportation system - our roads, buses, biking and walking paths, and more - will need significant improvement to accommodate the estimated over one million people living in the Treasure Valley ...
Boise Public Library – Hillcrest Branch
Boise, ID

Thu 9/27/18 at 3:30pm-7:30pm
Talks & Readings: Poetry Reading/Spoken Word
Celebrate Rumi
The Library is hosting a celebration of Mevlana Jelaluddin Rumi, 13th Century Persian poet and mystic philosopher whose writing continues to be studied and honored worldwide. Whether you’re a newcomer to his work or a longtime admirer, we hope you will ...
Boise Public Library – Main Branch
Boise, ID

Sat 9/29/18 at 2pm-4pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures, Tour, For the Family, History/Science
WalkAbout Boise
Join us every Saturday morning at the bench in front of the museum for WalkAbout Boise-- an approximately 1.5 hour guided walking tour through 150 years of history and architecture. Let us introduce you to the built environment that makes downtown Boise li...
Basque Museum & Cultural Center
Boise, ID

Sat 9/29/18 at 11am-12:30pm
Sat 10/6/18 at 11am-12:30pm
Sat 10/13/18 at 11am-12:30pm
Sat 10/20/18 at 11am-12:30pm
Sat 10/27/18 at 11am-12:30pm
Talks & Readings: Community Event
Regional Transportation Plan Open House
The year is 2040. How will you get from here to there? Our transportation system - our roads, buses, biking and walking paths, and more - will need significant improvement to accommodate the estimated over one million people living in the Treasure Valle...
Hispanic Cultural Center of Idaho
Nampa, ID

Tue 10/2/18 at 3:30pm-7:30pm
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings
Joel Gunderson - Boise State of Mind
After decades of under-the-radar success, the Boise State Broncos became a household name during the 2006-07 NCAA football season. That was when the 12-0 Broncos were set to face the 11-2 Oklahoma Sooners in the Fiesta Bowl. A David vs. Goliath event, ever...
Rediscovered Books
Boise, ID

Thu 10/4/18 at 6pm-9pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures, Politics
Vandal Voices: Advocate Effectively Before Your Local Government and Planning Commissions
Do you want to have your voice heard by local government officials? Join us 5-6 p.m. at the next Vandal Voices on October 4th and learn how. This presentation by University of Idaho professor of law Stephen R. Miller will provide a framework for effectivel...
10 Barrel Brewing Co.
Boise, ID

Thu 10/4/18 at 5pm-6pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
Cliven Bundy: Domestic Terrorist or American Patriot?
Author Michael Stickler is coming to “set the record straight” about Cliven Bundy, who he really is and how his stand makes a impact on every American. The Bundy name is celebrated by ranchers and farmers throughout the West. But that same name has beco...
Vision Community Church
Marsing, ID

Mon 10/8/18 at 7pm-9pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures, Signing/Readings
Junior High Book Club - The Bird and the Blade by Megan Bannen
sweeping and tragic debut novel perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and Megan Whalen Turner. The Bird and the Blade is a lush, powerful story of life and death, battles and riddles, lies and secrets from author Megan Bannen. Enslaved in Kipcha...
Rediscovered Books
Boise, ID

Mon 10/8/18 at 4pm-5pm
Talks & Readings: Community Event
Regional Transportation Plan Open House
The year is 2040. How will you get from here to there? Our transportation system - our roads, buses, biking and walking paths, and more - will need significant improvement to accommodate the estimated over one million people living in the Treasure Valle...
Community Planning Association (COMPASS)
Meridian, ID

Tue 10/9/18 at 3:30pm-7:30pm
Talks & Readings: Conference
Surthrive Leadership Summit
Surthrive Leadership Summit is a one-day conference for entreprenuers, dreamers, doers and leaders. Get ready for a full day of story telling, inspiration and learning that will further your leadership journey. This conference is focused on empowering l...
JUMP - Jack's Urban Meeting Place
Boise, ID

Tue 10/9/18 at 8am-5pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures, Signing/Readings, Hiking
Tom Lopez presents: Journey on the Inca Trail
Forty-one years ago Tom Lopez, author of "Idaho: A Climbing Guide", hiked the Inca Trail. Tom will recount the journey and briefly comment on what we humans are losing as we subjugate the planet. This presentation is free and open to the general public.
Idaho Outdoor Association
Boise, ID

Tue 10/9/18 at 7pm-8:30pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures, Social Event
Books on Tap Book Club
Join a new book club! Meet up for a relaxed discussion about books, focused around a different theme each month. Rather than select one book to read, we will decide on themes for each meeting, and make some fiction, nonfiction, or graphic novel suggestions...
PreFunk Beer Bar
Nampa, ID

Wed 10/10/18 at 7pm-8pm
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings
Laurie Keller - Potato Pants!
A potato and his eggplant nemesis struggle to find the perfect pants in Potato Pants!, a hilarious, heartwarming tale of forgiveness by bestselling Geisel-Award winning creator Laurie Keller. Potato is excited because today—for one day only— Lance Vance...
Rediscovered Books
Boise, ID

Wed 10/10/18 at 4:30pm-5:30pm
Talks & Readings: Poetry Reading/Spoken Word
A poetry Reading with C. Violet Eaton and Sara Nicholson
On Friday, October 12, 2018 at 7:30pm poets C. Violet Eaton and Sara Nicholson will read at MING Studios. C. Violet Eaton is the author of Some Habits (winner of the 2013 Omnidawn Open prize, as selected by Forrest Gander) and Quartet, forthcoming from Ahs...
MING Studios
Boise, ID

Fri 10/12/18 at 7:30pm-10pm
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings
Jeff Zentner - Goodbye Days and Seprent King
Jeff Zentner is the author of New York Times Notable Book The Serpent King as well as Goodbye Days. His third book, Rayne & Delilah’s Midnite Matinee is forthcoming in Spring 2019. He is the winner of the William C. Morris Award, the Amelia Elizabeth Walde...
Rediscovered Books
Boise, ID

Fri 10/12/18 at 7pm-8:30pm
Talks & Readings: Family/Child (Books), Signing/Readings
Adam Gidwitz - Unicorn Rescue Society: The Basque Dragon
We are having a Basque Party with Adam Gidwitz, author of the Basque Dragon! Newberry Award winning author, Adam Gidwitz will be at Rediscovered Books reading and talking about his latest book, The Basque Dragon. Festivities include: Taste food from...
Rediscovered Books
Boise, ID

Sat 10/13/18 at 3pm-5pm
Talks & Readings: Poetry Reading/Spoken Word, Talks/Lectures
Indie Author Day
Come get tips and tricks for writing and publishing! Including presentations on Podcasts, writing for children, Indie publishers and more! Light refreshments will be provided. All ages welcome!
Nampa Public Library
Nampa, ID

Sat 10/13/18 at 10:30am-4:30pm
    

Where To Do It!
Filter by City or Town: